Authors Posts by Francesca Ceciarini

Francesca Ceciarini

2483 POSTS 0 COMMENTS

by -

Chelsea midfielder Cesc Fabregas will take part to EURO 2016 with his national team, Spain.

The ex Arsenal and Barcelona playmaker said that La Roja want to redeem themselves after the disastrous World Cup 2014, after they were kicked out at the group stage as World Champions:

“In football confidence is so important, and in certain moments things go right or wrong,” the Blues midfielder told Four Four Two.

“I remember in the Netherlands game, which we lost 5-1, we were winning 1-0 and David Silva was one-on-one with the goalkeeper. If he scored that it would have been 2-0, and no chance for them.

“We’d have probably won and the confidence would have been very different. Instead, straight after that chance they scored, and from then in the second half they were much better than us. So football is about moments [like that].” 

“In football you always have something to prove; in every game, training, to be the best individually and collectively.

“People maybe don’t know what to expect from Spain because the last World Cup was a disappointment. 

“But now with a newer group – there are six or seven players who will be new at a tournament – I believe we are very strong. We have a competitive team, a very good manager and I can see us doing well this summer.” 

Spain are in Group D at EURO 2016 and they will play their first game on 13 June against Czech Republic.

Turkey and Croatia complete the group of the current European Champions.

 

by -

Dutch midfielder Marco van Ginkel would be happy to leave Chelsea to stay at PSV Eindhoven.

The 23-year-old spent the 2014-15 season with AC Milan before joining Stoke last summer, only for the Potters to cut short his year-long loan deal in January: Chelsea soon loaned him to PSV, where he made an impact and was crucial in title winning campaign.

Now that he found a team where he fits and not feeling confidence from his parent club, van Ginkel would be glad to move permanently to the Eredivisie side:

“It is still unclear what I am going to do. I need to report to Chelsea at some point in July and there is new coach there; I need to know what he intends to do,” he said to the Dutch newspaper De Telegraf.

“I am not feeling any pressure, I had a good half season here and I feel fine. If I don’t have a future in London, Chelsea would have to sell as I would only have one year left on my contract after next season.

“I had a good time at PSV, so a transfer is possible.”

 

by -

Chelsea are closing the deal to sign AS Roma centre-back Antonio Rudiger: the Blues made a £ 18m offer to the Italian club, that just just used their £ 6.5m buying option to sign him from Stuttgart.

The German international played in the Serie A side on loan in the past season and new Chelsea boss Antonio Conte eyed him.

The Blues directors are considering to send youngster Charlie Musonda Jr. in loan to have a discount on the transfer fee.

by -

Tonight the Copa America Centenario will start in the USA.

This special edition was created to celebrate the 100 years from the first time this prestigious tournament was played and the USA were chosen to give more visibility to the event, with the American national team taking part to the competition.

Three Chelsea players will take part to Copa America Centenario: Willian with Brazil, Cuadrado with Colombia and Michael Hector with Jamaica.

Let’s see where and when they will be in action:

WILLIAN

Brazil vs. Ecuador
Saturday, June 4, 10pm EDT; 1am GMT (next day)
Rose Bowl, Pasadena, CA

Brazil vs. Haiti
Wednesday, June 8, 7:30pm EDT; 12:30am BST (next day)
Camping World Stadium, Orlando, FL

Brazil vs. Peru
Sunday, June 12, 8:30pm EDT; 1:30am BST (next day)
Gillette Stadium, Foxborough, MA

JUAN CUADRADO

Colombia v USA

Friday, June 3, 9:30pm EDT; 2:30am GMT (next day)
Levi’s Stadium, Santa Clara, CA

Colombia v Paraguay
Tuesday, June 7, 10:30pm EDT; 3:30am GMT (next day)
Rose Bowl, Pasadena, CA

Colombia vs. Costa Rica
Saturday, June 11, 9pm EDT; 2am GMT (next day)
NRG Stadium, Houston, TX

MICHAEL HECTOR

Jamaica v VenezuelaSunday,

June 5, 5pm EDT; 10pm GMT

Soldier Field, Chicago, IL

Jamaica v Mexico
Thursday, June 9, 10pm EDT; 3am GMT (next day)
Rose Bowl, Pasadena, CA

Jamaica vs. Uruguay
Monday, June 13, 10pm EDT; 3am GMT (next day)
Levi’s Stadium, Santa Clara, CA

by -

Juan Cuadrado struggled to establish himself at Chelsea so he spent the majority of last season on-loan at Juventus.

More recently he has been linked with a potential transfer to Spanish giants Barcelona as a possible replacement for right-back Dani Alves.

Cuadrado insists he is flattered by the interest but claims he must concentrate on his national team Colombia before he thinks about his future at Chelsea.

“It’s nice to hear [about links to Barcelona], but here you do not think about it, only the national team.

“After we will see what happens with my future.”

by -

According to La Gazzetta dello Sport Napoli rejected a £ 23m ( € 30m) offer from Chelsea for Kalidou Koulibaly.

The Azzurri chairman Aurelio De Laurentiis is not really keen in selling the strong centre-back, that is on the top list of new Blues boss Antonio Conte, and he would consider only offers starting from £ 33m ( € 40m).

Koulibaly, anyway, is waiting for Napoli’s offer to extend his deal: the defender requested a £ 1.5m annual salary ( € 2m).

by -

Chelsea winger Eden Hazard admits it was a difficult game when Belgium took on Finland and the teams were level at full time with the scores 1-1.

Harzard told RTBF that he found it tough during the game and found it hard to get space on the pitch to make an impact. However, the 25-year-old claims that his international team will perform better in their opening game of the Euro’s against Italy.

“Honestly I think we had a good match.

“There was rhythm. At times it was difficult because they had a five-man defence and it wasn’t easy to find space. We found it on the wings — it’s just that we weren’t able to score from our chances.

“Opponents know us and know that there are good players in our team. Defences drop off and try not to concede goals. It’s up to us to be intelligent and to manage to score one more goal than the opponent.”

by -
Schurrle had an 18 month spell at Stamford Bridge

Tottenham are set to place a bid to sign ex Chelsea player Andre Schürrle.

The German winger left Stamford Bridge in January 2015 for £22m to join Wolfsburg but he wasn’t able to make an impact there.

The 25-year-old is said to be unhappy with life under head coach Dieter Hecking and he wants out.

Spurs manager Mauricio Pochettino would like to give him another chance in the Premier League but they have to be aware of Borussia Dortmund, that is really keen on the ex Chelsea attacking midfielder as well.

by -

Chelsea players Eden Hazard, Thibaut Courtois and Marco van Ginkel were all protagonist their national teams games last night.

The two Belgian players both started and the playmaker was the Red Devils captain for the first time.

Belgium eventually drew 1-1 against Finland, with the equaliser scored by ex Chelsea talent Romelu Lukaku at the last minute.

Van Ginkel started with Netherlands in the friendly game against Poland, that the Orange won 2-1 with goals by Janssen and Wijnaldum, while Jedrzejczyk scored the temporary equaliser for the Lewandowski‘s team.

Holland, anyway, incredibly missed the qualification for EURO 2016, so they won’t take part to the continental tournament in France.

 

by -

Chelsea midfielder Cesc Fabregas scored the second goal of the six with whom Spain beat South Korea last night in Salzburg, Austria, in a friendly game to prepare next European tournament in France.

The Blues number 4 played the first half,  as well as his club mate Cesar Azpilicueta.

The other Chelsea Spanish player selected for EURO 2016, Pedro, was not used by the coach Vicente Del Bosque.

The other goals were scored by David Silva, Alvaro Morata ( brace) and Nolito ( brace).

Se-Jong Joo scored the only goal for South Korea.

RANDOM POSTS

Atletico Madrid star Yannick Ferreira Carrasco's agent revealed that Manchester United and Chelsea would have placed a couple of stunning € 86m ( £...