Chelsea star Diego Costa will not face any retrospective FA action after appearing to kick out at Manchester City captain Vincent Kompany in last night win over Pep Guardiola‘s side.
There had been suggestions Costa could miss next two-three games in the title race after appearing to kick out at Citizens defender Kompany, but the striker will not face any sanction.
The reason is that match referee Mike Dean saw the second-half incident and dealt with it at the time, meaning FA cannot take any retrospective action.
Neither Chelsea boss Antonio Conte nor City manager Guardiola saw the Spaniard striker catch Vincent Kompany with his studs in midfield.
“I didn’t see it, but during the game it’s very difficult,” Conte said after the game.
“Yes, you see this kind of contact but it’s impossible to tell, to judge this kind of contact.”
Former English referee Mike Webb commented:
“If there was a foul before, and this happens afterwards, then maybe the FA might want to look at it as an act of violent conduct.
“But because this is the foul that Mike Dean penalises, then he has seen it, made a judgement on it and the FA don’t review situations where the referee has seen it.
“Is it violent conduct? It’s a subjective call but he puts his foot and doesn’t really follow through. I think it is worthy of a yellow card but probably just short of violent conduct.”