Six Chelsea players in PFA Team of the Year

Six Chelsea players in PFA Team of the Year

by -
PFA Team of the Year Chelsea players
Some of the Chelsea players at the PFA awards ceremony last night at the Grosvenor Hotel in London

The PFA Player of the Year Awards were given out at a reception at the Grosvenor Hotel in London last night, and we round up who won what as the 2014-15 season draws to a close. The list was voted for by players from 100 clubs from the Premier League, Football League and Women’s Super League.

PFA Player of the Year

Winner – Eden Hazard (Chelsea)

Shortlisted – Diego Costa (Chelsea), Alexis Sanchez (Arsenal), David de Gea (Manchester United), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool)


As was expected by many, Chelsea midfielder Eden Hazard was awarded the Player of the Year trophy after what has been a brilliant season for the Belgian. With Chelsea on course to lift their first Premier League title since 2010, Hazard’s consistenly good performances have been instrumental in maintaining the Blues’ dominance this season. The 24-year old has scored 13 goals and grabbed nine assists this season.


PFA Young Player of the Year

Winner – Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur)

Shortlisted – Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool), David de Gea (Manchester United), Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea), Raheem Sterling (Liverpool)


It has also been a fantastic season for young Tottenham striker Harry Kane. Although he didn’t score his first goal this season until November, he has been scoring them for fun since with an incredible 20 goals. He is currently the joint top-goal scorer in the Premier League, whilst becoming the first Spurs player to break the 30 goal threshold in all competitions since Gary Lineker in the 1991/92 season. Two of those goals included a winning brace against London rivals Arsenal.


PFA Women’s Player of the Year

Winner – Ji So-Yun (Chelsea)

Shortlisted – Eniola Aluko (Chelsea), Lucy Bronze (Manchester City), Karen Carney (Birmingham City), Jess Clarke (Notts County), Kelly Smith (Arsenal)


Nicknamed ‘The Korean Messi’, Ji So-Yun has had another good season for Chelsea Ladies. The South Korea international enjoyed a fine debut season in England after joining from Japanese side Kobe INAC Leonessa last year. Having been named FA WSL 1 Players’ Player of the Year at the FA Women’s Awards Last November, after helping Chelsea to second place in the top league, she is now the PFA Women’s Players’ Player of the Year 2015.


PFA Young Women’s Player of the Year

Winner – Leah Williamson (Arsenal)

Shortlisted – Freda Ayisi (Birmingham City), Hannah Blundell (Chelsea), Aoife Mannion (Birmingham City), Nikita Parris (Manchester City – on loan from Everton), Amy Turner (Notts County)


Having been the star of the England Under-19 penalty incident, 18-year old Leah Williamson has been a star performer for the Female Gunners since joining the club at the age of nine. She has shown bags of talent since, with great vision and being strong in a tackle.


PFA Merit Awards

Former England midfielders Steven Gerrard, 34, and Frank Lampard, 36, shared the PFA Merit award. The veteran pair will leave the Premier League for Major League Soccer in the United States in the summer, having collected 220 England caps between them.


PFA Premier League Team of the Year


There are six Chelsea players in this year’s team, three of which make up the back four. Ryan Bertrand makes up the back line after an impressive first full season at Southampton. Alexis Sanchez and Diego Costa get into the team after their debut season.

The team – David De Gea (Manchester United), Branislav Ivanovic (Chelsea), John Terry (Chelsea), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Ryan Bertrand (Southampton), Nemanja Matic (Chelsea), Alexis Sanchez (Arsenal), Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Diego Costa (Chelsea), Harry Kane (Tottenham).


PFA Women’s Team of the Year


Last year’s winner of the Women’s Player of the Year, Lucy Bronze, gets into the team along with Casey Stoney and Emma Mitchell from Arsenal. Nikita Parris gets into the team after an impressive season with Everton last term despite the Toffees being relegated to WSL2. Ji So Yun also gets into the team after winning the Women’s Player of the Year.

The team – Carly Telford (Notts County), Lucy Bronze (Liverpool), Casey Stoney (Arsenal), Rachel Corsie (Notts County – now Seattle Reign), Emma Mitchell (Arsenal); Ji So-Yun (Chelsea), Jill Scott (Manchester City), Jo Potter (Birmingham City), Karen Carney (Birmingham City); Nikita Parris (Everton), Eniola Aluko (Chelsea).


PFA Championship Team of the Year


Championship Player of the Year Patrick Bamford is a somewhat surprising omission from the team. Watford striker Troy Deeney is the only player to be included from the north London side, despite the Hornets being the first side to be promoted. Alex Pritchard is included after a great season on loan at Brentford, whilst Russell Martin is recognised for his solid performances at the back for Norwich City.

The team – Kieren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday); Simon Francis (Bournemouth), Richard Keogh (Derby County), Russell Martin (Norwich City), George Friend (Middlesbrough); Grant Leadbitter (Middlesbrough); Matt Ritchie (Bournemouth), Bakary Sako (Wolves), Alex Pritchard (Brentford – on loan from Tottenham); Troy Deeney (Watford), Daryl Murphy (Ipswich Town).


PFA League 1 Team of the Year


The team – Frank Fielding (Bristol City); Nathan Byrne (Swindon Town), Tom Clarke (Preston North End), Aden Flint (Bristol City), Joe Bryan (Bristol City); Dele Alli (MK Dons); Luke Freeman (Bristol City), Massimo Luongo (Swindon Town), Korey Smith (Bristol City); Joe Garner (Preston North End), Eoin Doyle (Chesterfield – now Cardiff City).


PFA League 2 Team of the Year


The team – Daniel Bentley (Southend United); Phil Edwards (Burton Albion), Steve McNulty (Luton Town), Connor Goldson (Shrewsbury Town), Ben Coker (Southend United); Ryan Woods (Shrewsbury Town), Matt Grimes (Exeter City – now Swansea City), Jed Wallace (Portsmouth), Danny Mayor (Bury); Matt Tubbs (Portsmouth), Reuben Reid (Plymouth Argyle).